skip to page content
Home
 
 
 

Faculty developers in the UW System

Colleges
Eau Claire
Extension
Green Bay
La Crosse
Madison
Milwaukee
Oshkosh
Parkside
Platteville
River Falls
Stevens Point
Stout
Superior
System Admin
Whitewater

Note:  Programs, projects, areas of leadership/expertise where the faculty developer is willing to serve as a resource for others are marked with an asterisk(*).

 

UW Colleges

 
Nancy Chick
Associate Professor of English
UW-Barron County
715.234.8l76 ext 5425
Nancy.Chick@uwc.edu

Assessment of student learning, book groups, rubric development, collaborative learning, *online teaching, *feminist pedagogy, *discussions online -- lots of SoTL projects

Mary Beth Emmerichs
History; Interim Campus Dean
UW-Manitowoc
920-683-4710
memmeric@uwc.edu

Training in discipline-based assessment, national assessment tools and changes in instructional strategies

Pat Fellows
Instructional Technologist/Physical Education
UW Colleges
608-263-3245
pfellows@uwc.edu

Training in the use of instructional technology, hybrid courses

Renee Gralewicz
Assessment Coordinator/Anthropology & Sociology
UW-Barron County
715-234-8176 ex. 5423
rgralewi@uwc.edu

Training in asssessment of teaching and learning

Wava Haney
Interim Associate Vice Chancellor &
Professional Development Coordinator
Anthropology-Sociology
UW Colleges
608-647-6186 ex.248
whaney@uwc.edu

Training in SoTL project review, teaching with technology (online and hybrid) and "best practices" (former chair of the American Sociological Association Section on Teaching and Learning in Sociology)

Catherine Helgeland
Geography
UW-Manitowoc
920-684-7590
chelgela@uwc.edu

Training in SoTL

Shirley Hensch
Online Instructional Design/Psychology
UW Colleges
608-262-7558
shensch@uwc.edu

Training in teaching online

Dan Kallgren
History
UW-Marinette
715-735-4317
dkallgre@uwc.edu

Training in learning communities

Kim Kostka
Chemistry Dept Chair
UW-Rock County
608-757-2299
kkostka@uwc.edu

Training in discipline-based assessment, national assessment tools and concept based lesson study

Cary Komoto
Associate Professor of Geography-Geology
UW-Barron County
715-234-8176 ex. 5416
ckomoto@uwc.edu

SoTL projects

Annette Kuhlmann
Professional Development Coordinator
Anthropology/Sociology/Women's Studies
UW Colleges
608.356.8351
akuhlman@uwc.edu

Greg Lampe
Office of Academic Affairs
UW Colleges
608-263-1794
glampe@uwc.edu

Assessment of student learning and administering faculty development programs*-ESFY

Jane Oitzinger
English/Philosophy
UW-Marinette
715-735-6805
joitzing@uwc.edu

Training in learning communities, Collaborative learning

Barbara Stinson
Distance Education Director
UW Colleges
608-265-0659
bstinson@uwc.edu

Christel Taylor
Assistant Coordinator
Engaging Students in the First Year (ESFY) /English
UW-Waukesha
262-521-5477
ctaylor@uwc.edu

Training in the development of freshman seminars

Julie Tharp
Professor of English and Associate Dean
UW-Marshfield/Wood County
715.389.6514
jtharp@uwc.edu

ESFY

UW-Eau Claire

 
Linda Carpenter
Coordinator-Network for Excellence in Teaching (NET)
UW-Eau Claire
715.836.2298
carpenlj@uwec.edu

Oversees SoTL grant projects, NET Teaching Scholars, working with tech people in teaching-learning center

Rodd Freitag
Political Science
UW-Eau Claire
715-836-5044
freitard@uwec.edu

Jessica Holm
Teaching & Learning Technology/Development Center
UW-Eau Claire
715.836.4734
holmjl@uwec.edu

Instructional technology, teaching with technology, integrating tech into student assignments, research and assessment

Donna Raleigh
Teaching & Learning Technology/Development Center
UW-Eau Claire
715.836.5162
draleigh@uwec.edu

Teaching with technology, instructional technology, rubric development, problem-based learning

UW-Extension

 
Mary Crave
UW-Extension
608-262-6677
crave@conted.uwex.edu

Program Impacts/evaluation

Molly Immendorf
Instructional Technology Specialist
UW-Extension
608.263.3843
molly.immendorf@ces.uwex.edu

SoTL with technology virtual community and choosing effective uses of technology in teaching & learning

Rosemary Lehman
Instructional Communications Systems
UW-Extension
608.262.7524
lehman@ics.uwex.edu

*Assessing Impacts, exploring emerging technologies.
Uses of technology for teaching/learning. Adaptation of curriculum.

Nicole Marcisz
UW-Extension
608.265.2843
marcisz@learn.uwsa.edu

Faculty Dev. re Uses of Technology for Teaching and Training / Fac Dev Teaching Online

Penny Ralston-Berg
Learning Innovation
UW-Extension
608-262-8095
ralston.berg@learn.uwsa.edu

Senior instructional designer

Kay Taube
Assistant Dean
UW-Extension
608-262-7277
taubeks@conted.uwex.edu

UW-Green Bay

 
Cliff Abbott
Information Sciences & Computing
(Communication/American Indian Studies)
UW-Green Bay
920.465.2451
abbottc@uwgb.edu

Heidi Fencl
Natural & Applied Sciences
(Physics/Women's Studies)
Instructional Development Council
UW-Green Bay
920-465-2371
fenclh@uwgb.edu

Susan Gallagher-Lepak
Professional Program in Nursing
UW-Green Bay
920-465-2107
gallaghs@uwgb.edu

Regan Gurung
Human Development & Psychology
Teaching Scholars (I & II) Program
UW-Green Bay
920-465-5679
gurungr@uwgb.edu

Instructional Development Com (IDC), Society for Teaching of Psychology, National Task Force on SoTL, *how students study, pedagogical aids, teaching about cultural diversity

Denise Schebrele
Public & Environmental Affairs
(Political Science)
Teaching Scholars (I & II) Program
UW-Green Bay
920-465-2198
scheberd@uwgb.edu

Tim Sewall
Asst. Provost for Academic Affairs
UW-Green Bay
920-465-2033
sewallt@uwgb.edu

Dean VonDras
Human Development & Psychology
UW-Green Bay
920-465-5012
vondrasd@uwgb.edu

UW-La Crosse

 
Terry Beck
English
UW-La Crosse
608-785-8660
beck.terr@uwlax.edu

(Writing emphasis-not currently funded), SoTL Planning Group

Bill Cerbin
Assistant to the Provost
UW-La Crosse
608-785-6881
cerbin.will@uwlax.edu

Lesson study, SoTL planning

Scott Cooper
Biology
UW-La Crosse
608-785-6983
cooper.scott@uwlax.edu

Teaching conference in 2005-06, leading the Teach Portfolio Colloquium (4 sessions)

Deb Hoskins
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
UW-La Crosse
608-785-8734
hoskins.debo@uwlax.edu

Faculty Seminar on Teaching for Diversity, Curriculum Infusion (Diversity) workshops, SoTL Planning Group

Jim Jorstad
Educational Technology
UW-La Crosse
608-785-8048
jorstad.jame@uwlax.edu

IT

Betsy Morgan
Psychology
UW-La Crosse
608-785-6885
morgan.bets@uwlax.edu

New faculty orientation

UW-Madison

 
Mo Bischof
Academic Affairs/Contact in Provost's office
UW-Madison
608-265-4413
mabischof@wisc.edu

Faculty & Staff Development-new faculty and T&L-academic program assessment & student outcomes, classroom climate & diversity issues-dept chairs/directors development, SoTL

Chris Carlson-Dakes
DELTA Program for Research, Teaching, and Learning
UW-Madison
608-263-4259
cgcarlso@wisc.edu

Reading groups, diversity issues, small group discussions, peer review of teaching, program development, cross-generational programs (students, academic staff and faculty together)

Kathy Christoph
Academic Technology
UW-Madison
608-262-3098
christoph@doit.wisc.edu

Laurie Beth Clark
Associate Vice Chancellor for Faculty and Staff Programs
UW-Madison
608-262-5246
lbclark@wisc.edu

Sandra Courter
Engineering Professional Development/Wisconsin Center for Education Research
UW-Madison
608-265-9767
courter@engr.wisc.edu

Joyce Hemphill
Educational Psychology
UW-Madison
608-262-9995
jahemphill@wisc.edu

Chris Pfund
DELTA Program for Research, Teaching, and Learning
UW-Madison
608-261-1180
cepfund@wisc.edu

Nancy Ruggeri
Engineering Outreach
UW-Madison
608.265.6367
nruggeri@wisc.edu

Antonia Schleicher
African Languages & Literature
UW-Madison
608-262-2487
ayschlei@wisc.edu

Don Schutt
Director, Office of Human Resource Development
UW-Madison
608-263-1016
dschutt@mail.bascom.wisc.edu

Catherine Stephens
CIMC, School of Education
UW-Madison
608-263-5949
cstephens@education.wisc.edu

Lillian Tong
Undergraduate Education Coordinator for the Center for Biology Education
UW-Madison
608-265-3003
tong@wisc.edu

Journal Club, Biology Interest Groups (Freshman Interest Groups) faculty learning community to develop them, Instructional Materials Development course with faculty/staff and grad student teams, cross disciplinary communication (STEM disciplines), diversity issues, brownbags, curriculum development in Biol. Sci, SoTL

UW-Milwaukee

 
Alan Aycock
Learning Technology Center
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-4319
aycock@uwm.edu

Course design for hybrid and online courses*, teaching with technology*

Gerald Bergtrom
Learning Technology Center
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-6254
bergtrom@uwm.edu

Instructional Designer

Anthony Ciccone
Center for Instruction & Professional Development
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-6638
ciccone@uwm.edu

Director of CIPD: *SoTL, *Teaching Scholars, *Freshman Seminars, Individual Consultation, *Administration, *workshops

Simone Conceição
Assistant Professor
School of Education
UW-Milwaukee
414.229.4615
simonec@uwm.edu

Online teaching, instructional design, distance ed, adult learning & teaching

Elliot Fischer
Graduate Program Coordinator
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-2223
ef2@uwm.edu

Develop teaching assistants, workshops

Tanya Joosten
Learning Technology Center
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-4319
tjoosten@uwm.edu

Instructional Designer

Katina Lazarides
Communication Specialist/UW System Leadership Site
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-3469
kazar@uwm.edu

SoTL, workshops, *faculty-student research partnership

Amy Mangrich
Learning Technology Center
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-4319
amangric@uwm.edu

Faculty development workshops in technology & pedagogy in: Course Manaement System(D2L)/Digital Imaging/Videotaping/Hybrid Teaching Model. Use of learning objects (in visual art foundations curriculum)

Renee Meyers
Communication
UW System Leadership Site Coordinator
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-5539
meyers@uwm.edu

*SoTL,*workshops-collaborative learning,using groups in classroom

Paula Rhyner
Communication Sciences & Disorders
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-4878
prhyner@uwm.edu

Connie Schroeder
Center for Instruction & Professional Development/Asst. Director, CIPD
UW-Milwaukee
414.229.5764
connies@uwm.edu

Dev Venugopalan
Associate Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs
UW-Milwaukee
414-229-4503
dv@uwm.edu

Assessment plan development and implementation

UW-Oshkosh

 
Gary Adams
Industrial/Organizational Psychology/Current Fac. Devel. Board Chair
UW-Oshkosh
920-424-2071
adamsg@uwosh.edu

Chair, Faculty Development Board

Lori Carrell
Communication
UW-Oshkosh
920-424-4423
carrell@uwosh.edu

Coordinator SoTL Initiative, Teaching Forum (on line SoTL journal)

Lane Earns
Provost - New Faculty Orientation
UW-Oshkosh
920-424-0300
earns@uwosh.edu

Linda Freed
Office of Grants & Faculty Development
UW-Oshkosh
920-424-1415
freed@uwosh.edu

Research administration/development

John Koker
Dean, College of Letters and Science
UW-Oshkosh
920-424-1058
koker@uwosh.edu

OPID Rep & Council Chair, Immed Past Fac. Dev. Bd Chair, member of Faculty Development Board

UW-Parkside

 
Jim Robinson
Director, Center for Teaching & Learning
UW-Parkside
262-595-2068
robinson@uwp.edu

Director, UW-Parkside Teaching & Learning Center

Theresa Castor
Chair, Committee on Teaching and Learning/Communication
UW-Parkside
262-595-2252
castor@uwp.edu

Chair - Committee on Teaching and Learning - SOTL

UW-Platteville

 
Alison Bunte
Assistant Dean of Liberal Arts & Education
UW-Platteville

Duane Ford
Dean
UW-Platteville
608.342.1547
fordd@uwplatt.edu

BILSA - Business Industry Life Science Agr. Fall & Spring All College Event

Tom LoGuidice
Dir of Teaching Excellence Center
UW-Platteville
608-342-1798
loguidit@uwplatt.edu

Diversity, scholarship of engagement (service learning), SoTL for Professional Studies, Universal Design

Mittie Nimocks
Liberal Arts & Education Faculty Forum
UW-Platteville
608.342.1151
nimocksm@uwplatt.edu

Lisa Riedle
Asst. Dean of Engineering, Math & Science
UW-Platteville
608-342-1686
riedle@uwplatt.edu

Interdisciplinary project teams, new faculty mentoring program

Rich Shultz
Dean of Engineering, Math & Science
UW-Platteville

George Smith
Liberal Arts & Education
UW-Platteville

UW-River Falls

 
Debra Allyn
Health and Human Performance
UW-River Falls
715-425-3227
debra.a.allyn@uwrf.edu

Co-director of Teaching Learning Center

Bill Campbell
Director of Grants and Research
UW-River Falls
715-425-3195
wm.e.campbell@uwrf.edu

Doug Johnson
Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Director of Graduate Studies
UW-River Falls
715-425-0629
douglas.l.johnson@uwrf.edu

OPID Administrative Rep., UWRF Interim Grad Dean Assoc. Dean A & S, SoTL grant*, teaching scholars*

Nan Jordahl
Director for Student and Faculty Academic Support Programs and Associate Professor of Communicative Disorders
UW-River Falls
715-425-0699
nanette.j.jordahl@uwrf.edu

Director, Faculty & Student Academic Support Programs, Admin. Rep - OPID, new faculty mentoring program, faculty development activities

Cindy Kernahan
Psychology
UW-River Falls
715-425-4689
cynthia.kernahan@uwrf.edu

Co-director of Teaching Learning Center

Ian Williams
Plant and Earth Science
UW-River Falls
715-425-3139
ian.williams@uwrf.edu

New Faculty Assistance Program, Mentoring, Preparing Future Faculty

UW-Stevens Point

 
Karyn Biasca
Paper Science
UW-Stevens Point
715-346-3962
kbiasca@uwsp.edu

Steve Bondeson
Chemistry
UW-Stevens Point
715.346.4446
sbondeso@uwsp.edu

Karlene Ferrante
Communication
UW-Stevens Point
715-346-3712
kferrant@uwsp.edu

Reading Circles, Coordinator for Teaching & Learning

Marty Loy
OPID Faculty Rep/FACETS grant funded FD program/Chair HPHD
UW-Stevens Point
715-346-2686
mloy@uwsp.edu

Mary Mielke
Teaching & Learning Resource Network
UW-Stevens Point
715-346-3047
mmielke@uwsp.edu

Instructional Design

Patricia Ploetz
Teaching & Learning Resource Network
UW-Stevens Point
715-346-4930
pploetz@uwsp.edu

Educational Technology - changing faculty/student roles in online teaching and learning

Bobbie Stokes
Director Tutoring-Learning Center
UW-Stevens Point
715-346-4477
rstokes@uwsp.edu

Work with faculty on writing and reading in the disciplines projects, class assignments, and course design

Craig Wendorf
FACETS grant funded FD program
UW-Stevens Point
715.346.2304
cwendorf@uwsp.edu

Leslie Wilson
FACETS grant funded FD program
UW-Stevens Point
715.346.4350
lwilson@uwsp.edu

Teaching for Millennials - FACETS project

Donna Zimmerman
Director of College of Professional Studies Teaching Partners program
UW-Stevens Point
715.346.4426
dzimmerm@uwsp.edu

Coordinates a teaching partners program

UW-Stout

 
Brian Beamer
beamerb@uwstout.edu

Lesson Study

Sue Foxwell
Director of Research Administration
Research Services
UW-Stout
715-232-2477
foxwells@uwstout.edu

Coordinate & deliver research for professional development, research proposal development

Julie Furst-Bowe
Provost / Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
UW-Stout
715-232-2421
furst-bowej@uwstout.edu

Jane Henderson
Instructional Program Manager/Assessment
UW-Stout
715-232 -5005
hendersonj@uwstout.edu

Coordinate and deliver ongoing instructional professional development for faculty/staff

Dan Riordan
English and Philosophy
Director, Teaching and Learning Center
UW-Stout
715-232-1344
riordand@uwstout.edu

Develop SoTL cohorts, grant writing for SoTL, coordinate/deliver ongoing Instructional professional development, develop engagement study projects

Nicolle Stone
Director of Learning Technology Services
UW-Stout
715-232-5320
stonen@uwstout.edu

Coordinate and deliver ongoing instructional technology professional development for faculty/staff

Renee Surdick
UW-Stout
surdickr@uwstout.edu

Problem based learning

Julianne Taylor
UW-Stout
taylorju@uwstout.edu

Problem based learning

UW-Superior

 
Rosemary Keefe
Director of Faculty Development/ Professor of English & Women's Studies
UW-Superior
715-394-8481
rkeefe@uwsuper.edu

Ran Faculty Resource Center, OPID faculty rep, first year seminar project group researching student learning in the first year

Lisa Larson
Coordinator of Center for Teaching, Learning, & Technology Development
UW-Superior
715-394-8051
llarson@uwsuper.edu

Teaching with technology, learning theories and instructional design, culture and learning

UW System Administration

 
Alan Foley
Office of Learning and Information Technology (OLIT)
UW System Administration
608-265-9559
afoley@uwsa.edu

Helen Klebesadel
Director, Women's Studies Consortium (WSC)
UW System Administration
608-262-3056
hklebesadel@uwsa.edu

Lisa Kornetsky
Director, Office of Professional and Instructional Development (OPID)
UW System Administration
608-263-2722
lkornetsky@uwsa.edu

Rae McCormick
Program Associate, Office of Professional and Instructional Development (OPID)
UW System Administration
608-262-5862
rmccormick@uwsa.edu

Web design, grants coordination

Donna Silver
Assistant Director, Office of Professional and Instructional Development (OPID)
UW System Administration
608-262-4337
dsilver@uwsa.edu

UW-Whitewater

 
Denise Ehlen
Research & Sponsored Programs
UW-Whitewater
262-472-5212
ehlend@uww.edu

Grants, research

John Stone
Dean-Graduate Studies
UW-Whitewater
262-472-1006
stonej@uww.edu

First Year Faculty Program, Mentor Program, Master Teacher Program,planning, programming, administrative

Greg Valde
Director of Teaching Scholars Program/Director LEARN Center/Department of Educational Foundations
UW-Whitewater
262-472-5433
valdeg@uww.edu

Books clubs, Teaching & Learning 101, Teaching Scholars Program (SoTL) Workshops
 

 

       
UW System Home
Accessibility | Privacy - Send questions about this page to opid@uwsa.edu
Copyright Board of Regents - University of Wisconsin System
Last Updated: October 24, 2007