Classified Staff Shared Governance

On September 6, 2013, the Board of Regents adopted Regent Policy Document 20-20, under which classified staff may participate in institutional governance.

The Board policy states:

"This policy enables active participation in the immediate decision-making and policy development of the institution.  Active participation in governance for classified staff under this policy is not collective bargaining and will not result in a labor agreement or contract.  Classified staff may make recommendations, consider proposals, and raise concerns to institutional leadership.

The Board policy also provides that classified staff shall have the right to structure themselves in a manner that they determine, and to select their representatives to participate in institutional governance.

The University of Wisconsin System has a longstanding tradition of shared decision making with the faculty, academic staff, and students. The adoption of Regent Policy Document 20-20 is consistent with the principle that classified staff should have a voice in the development of the policies and procedures that directly affect their work lives.

Institutions’ classified staff governance chairs, representatives, and websites.

Institutions’ classified staff governance chairs, representatives, and websites
Institution 2013-14 Chair Representative
UW Colleges Rose Brust
(rose.brust@uwc.edu)
Kay Sbarbaro
(kay.sbarbaro@uwc.edu)

Lynn Weber
(lynn.weber@uwc.edu)
UW-Eau Claire Greg Falkenberg
(falkengc@uwec.edu)

Shelley Mather
(howdersm@uwec.edu)
Greg Falkenberg
(falkengc@uwec.edu)

Shelley Mather
(howdersm@uwec.edu)
UW-Extension Dan Wanish
(dan.wanish@uwex.edu)
Dan Wanish
(dan.wanish@uwex.edu)
UW-Green Bay Ruth Pearson
(pearsonr@uwgb.edu)
Ruth Pearson
(pearsonr@uwgb.edu)
UW-La Crosse Robert Wilson
(rwilson@uwlax.edu)
Karoline Auby
(kauby@uwlax.edu)

Robert Wilson
(rwilson@uwlax.edu)
UW-Madison Russell Kutz
(russ.kutz@wvdl.wisc.edu)
Russell Kutz
(russ.kutz@wvdl.wisc.edu)
UW-Milwaukee Stan Yasaitis
(yasaitis@uwm.edu)
Stan Yasaitis
(yasaitis@uwm.edu)
UW-Oshkosh Jean Bord
(bord@uwosh.edu)
Jean Bord
(bord@uwosh.edu)
UW-Parkside Karin Basken
(basken@uwp.edu)

Karen Grabher
(grabher@uwp.edu)
Karin Basken
(basken@uwp.edu)

Karen Grabher
(grabher@uwp.edu)
UW-Platteville Lori Wedig
(wedigl@uwplatt.edu)
Lori Wedig
(wedigl@uwplatt.edu)
UW-River Falls Greg Elliott
(gregory.elliott@uwrf.edu)

Steven Meads
steven.meads@uwrf.edu)
Greg Elliott
(gregory.elliott@uwrf.edu)

Steven Meads
steven.meads@uwrf.edu)
UW-Stevens Point Libby Raymond
(lraymond@uwsp.edu)

Paulette Rogers
(progers@uwsp.edu)
Libby Raymond
(lraymond@uwsp.edu)

Paulette Rogers
(progers@uwsp.edu)
UW-Stout Joan Wahl
(wahlj@uwstout.edu)
Joan Wahl
(wahlj@uwstout.edu)
UW-Superior Mary McCauley
(mmccaule@uwsuper.edu)
Janet Blair
(jblair@uwsuper.edu)
UW System Administration Ruth Ginzberg
(rginzberg@uwsa.edu)
Ruth Ginzberg
(rginzberg@uwsa.edu)
UW-Whitewater Denise Ehren
(ehrend@uww.edu)
Denise Ehren
(ehrend@uww.edu)