Sexual Harassment & Sexual Misconduct - Title IX

No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.” 20 U.S.C. § 1681(a)

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (Title IX) prohibits discrimination based on sex in any educational program or activity that receives financial support from the Federal government. Under Title IX, discrimination based on sex includes sexual harassment, sexual violence, and sexual assault. Title IX also prohibits retaliation against individuals who complain about or participate in an investigation regarding an alleged Title IX violation.

In compliance with Title IX, the University of Wisconsin does not discriminate on the basis of sex in employment or in its educational programs and activities. It is the University of Wisconsin’s goal to maintain an environment that is free from all forms of illegal harassment and discrimination, including sexual harassment, sexual violence, sexual assault, sexual coercion, and rape.

All inquiries concerning the application of policies for the prevention of sexual harassment and sexual violence under Title IX may be referred to the following institution specific individuals:

Title IX Coordinators
UW Institution Coordinator Contact Email
UW Colleges and UW Extension Christine Curley christine.curley@uwex.edu
UW-Eau Claire Teresa O’Halloran ohallote@uwec.edu
UW-Green Bay Sheryl VanGruensven, Brenda Amenson-Hill vangrues@uwgb.edu, hillb@uwgb.edu
UW-La Crosse Nizam Arain narain@uwlax.edu
UW-Madison Luis Pinero lpinero@cdo.wisc.edu
UW-Milwaukee Jazmin Taylor jazmin@uwm.edu
UW-Oshkosh Sharon Kipetz kipetzs@uwosh.edu
UW-Parkside Ed Twyman, Tammy McGuckin twyman@uwp.edu, mcguckin@uwp.edu
UW-Platteville John Lohman lohmannj@uwplatt.edu
UW-River Falls Gregg Heinselman Gregg.heinselman@uwrf.edu
UW-Stevens Point Bob Tabor bob.tabor@uwsp.edu
UW-Stout Deb Gehrke gehrked@uwstout.edu
UW-Superior Peggy Fecker pfecker@uwsuper.edu
UW System Administration Rich Thal rthal@uwsa.edu
UW-Whitewater Elizabeth Ogunsola ogunsole@uww.edu