Finalists named in UW-Eau Claire chancellor search (Jan 17, 2006)

Return to News | News Archive


Jan. 17, 2006

Contact: Doug Bradley
(608) 262-5061                                                 

Finalists named in UW-Eau Claire chancellor search

MADISON - University of Wisconsin System President Kevin P. Reilly today announced the names of the finalists for the position of chancellor at UW-Eau Claire.

The names have been forwarded to the Board of Regents' Special Committee for the UW-Eau Claire Chancellor Search, chaired by Peggy Rosenzweig of Wauwatosa, which will interview the finalists in Madison on Jan. 30.  Other committee members are Regents Eileen Connolly-Keesler of Oshkosh, Charles Pruitt of Milwaukee, and Jesus Salas of Milwaukee.

The full Board of Regents is expected to take final action in February, after it receives a recommendation from the Special Committee, and President Reilly.

The finalists, their titles and current institutions are as follows:

  • Royce C. Engstrom
    Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs;
    University of South Dakota (Vermillion, S.D.)

  • Sharon K. Hahs
    Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs; Professor of Chemistry
    Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville

  • Brian L. Levin-Stankevich
    Interim President; Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Professor of Counseling, Educational and Developmental Psychology
    Eastern Washington University (Cheney, Wash.)

  • James W. Perry
    Campus Executive Officer and Dean; Professor of Biological Sciences
    University of Wisconsin-Fox Valley (Appleton, Wis.)

A 17-member campus/community search and screen committee, chaired by Robert Hooper, UW-Eau Claire professor of geology, submitted the recommendations of these four finalists to the Special Regent Committee and the President. The person chosen by the regents will become UW-Eau Claire's 7th chancellor, succeeding Donald J. Mash, now executive senior vice president for the UW System. Vicki Lord Larson has served as interim chancellor since March 2005.

More information about the finalists is available at