News

Elections experts (Dec 6, 2005)

Return to News | News Archive

For Immediate Release

December 6, 2005

To: Editors, reporters
From: Doug Bradley, (608) 262-5061, dbradley@uwsa.edu
Re: Elections experts

As Wisconsin and the nation prepare for another political season, faculty members from University of Wisconsin System campuses are available to offer context and perspective to news media covering legislative issues and upcoming elections.

The following includes contact information and areas of expertise for selected UW faculty.

UW-EAU CLAIRE
Rodd Freitag
, associate professor and department chair, political science, (715) 836-5044, freitard@uwec.edu
State and local politics, interest groups, Congress, welfare policy, elections

Geoffrey Peterson, assistant professor of political science, (715) 836-3641, petersgd@uwec.edu
Voting behavior, public opinion polling, elections, media and politics, political advertising, American Indian politics

UW-GREEN BAY
Scott Furlong, professor of public and environmental affairs, (920) 465-2061, furlongs@uwgb.edu
State and national elections

Theresa Johnson, assistant professor of public and environmental affairs, (920) 465-2758, johnsont@uwgb.edu
Local, state and national elections, campaign finance

Michael Kraft, professor of public and environmental affairs, (920) 465-2531, kraftm@uwgb.edu
State and national elections, campaign finance and ethics

Timothy Meyer, professor of information and computing science, (920) 465-2134, meyert@uwgb.edu
Media coverage of politics and Presidential debates

Denise Scheberle, professor of public and environmental affairs, (920) 465-2595, scheberd@uwgb.edu
State and national elections, general election issues

UW-LA CROSSE
Joe Heim
, professor of political science/public administration, (608) 785-6640 / 788-7717, heim.jose@uwlax.edu
Campaigns and elections, state of Wisconsin and federal

John Medinger, instructor of state and local government, (608) 785-6641, medinger.john@uwlax.edu
Federal, state and local government, elections

Curt Reithel, professor of political science/public administration, (608) 785-8436, reithel.curt@uwlax.edu
Presidential elections, foreign policy

UW-MADISON
Dennis L. Dresang
, professor of political science, La Follette School of Public Affairs, (608) 263-0446, dresang@polisci.wisc.edu
State government and politics, federalism and intergovernmental (including tribal) relations, gangs and youth violence, personnel and public management

Charles Franklin, professor of political science, (608) 263-2022, franklin@polisci.wisc.edu
Congressional and presidential elections, campaigns, campaign ads, tracking polls, public opinion polls, exit polls, survey and polling methodology, statistical methods, Supreme Court and public opinion

Kenneth M. Goldstein, professor of political science, (608) 263-2390, goldstei@polisci.wisc.edu
Political advertising, campaigns and elections, campaign finance, interest groups, Israeli politics

Kenneth R. Mayer, professor of political science, (608) 263-2286, kmayer@polisci.wisc.edu
American politics, campaign finance, presidency, congressional politics

Dietram A. Scheufele, professor of journalism and mass communication, (608) 263-3074, scheufele@wisc.edu
Public opinion, polling, survey methodology, public attitudes toward nanotechnology and biotechnology and terrorism and civil liberties, election and communication campaigns, political advertising and participation, citizen deliberation, Internet and democracy

Dhavan V. Shah, professor of journalism and mass communication, (608) 262-0388, dshah@fascstaff.wisc.edu
Political communication, public opinion, election coverage, civic engagement, political participation, voting decisions, media bias and news framing

Katherine Cramer Walsh, assistant professor of political science, (608) 265-3679, kwalsh@polisci.wisc.edu
Political conversation and political talk, public opinion, media and politics, civic engagement, civic dialogue programs on race relations, civic deliberation

A wide range of other expertise is available through UW-Madison's online Experts List at http://experts.news.wisc.edu

UW-MANITOWOC
Richard Flannery
, professor of political science, (920) 683-4695 / home (920) 459-7116, rflanner@uwc.edu
The American Presidency

UW-MARATHON COUNTY
Eric Giordano
, assistant professor of political science, (715) 261-6270, egiordan@uwc.edu
International relations, law and diplomacy, terrorism, American government, state and local politics

UW-MARSHFIELD
Jeff Kleiman
, associate professor of history, (715) 389-6558, jkleiman@uwc.edu
American political history, American religion and politics

Mike Hagman, lecturer, political science, (715) 384-1709, mhagman@uwc.edu
Current political events, threats to nation

UW-MILWAUKEE
David S. Allen, associate professor of journalism & mass communication, (414) 229-4619, dsallen@uwm.edu
Media ethics and how First Amendment law is used by society to manage public dissent; freedom of the press during wartime

Sara Benesh, assistant professor of political science, (414) 229-6720, sbenesh@uwm.edu
Judicial decision making, public opinion, courts of other countries

Paul Brewer, associate professor of mass communications, (414) 229-5376, prbrewer@uwm.edu
Media and politics, public opinion and the media, political communication

Kathleen Dolan, associate professor of political science, (414) 229-3892, kdolan@uwm.edu
Electoral behavior, women and politics, public opinion, political participation, legislative politics

Thomas M. Holbrook, professor of political science, (414) 229-6468, holbroot@uwm.edu
Political behavior, campaigns and elections, state politics, economic voting

Glen Jeansonne, professor of history, (414) 229-3964, gsj@uwm.edu
Twentieth-century U.S. history, presidential history after 1900, Huey Long, FDR, Ronald Reagan, the 1980s

Mordecai Lee, associate professor of political science, (414) 227-3282, mordecai@uwm.edu
General politics

Kathryn Olson, associate professor of communications, (414) 229-6396, kolson@uwm.edu
Contemporary political rhetoric (especially presidential rhetoric), rhetoric of social controversy

Steven Redd, assistant professor of political science, (414) 229-4741, sredd@uwm.edu
International relations, U.S. foreign policy, political psychology

UW-OSHKOSH
Martin Gruberg
, professor of political science, (920) 424-0146, gruberg@uwosh.edu
Civil liberties, U.S. politics

Paul Liu, assistant professor of political science, (920) 424-7162, liu@uwosh.edu
Racial voting patterns, voter participation, urban politics, and racial politics

Craig Maher, assistant professor of political science, (920) 424-2213, maher@uwosh.edu
Tax and spending policy

David Siemers, assistant professor of political science, (920) 424-0435, siemers@uwosh.edu
Presidential politics

Jim Simmons, professor of political science, (920) 424-7165, simmons@uwosh.edu
U.S. politics, urban politics, poverty and race issues, Wisconsin politics

UW-PARKSIDE
Gerald Greenfield, associate provost and professor of history, (262) 595-2144, gerald.greenfield@uwp.edu
National elections

William Murin, professor of political science, (262) 595-2021, william.murin@uwp.edu
Historical perspective of elections

UW-PLATTEVILLE
Scott Nikolai
, lecturer in political science, (608) 342-1690, nikolais@uwplatt.edu
National elections, presidential elections, political parties, campaigns, women in politics and women running in Congressional elections

John Rink, associate professor of political science, (608) 342-1795, rink@uwplatt.edu
National elections, presidential elections, political parties, campaigns, voting patterns

UW-RIVER FALLS
Tracey Gladstone-Sovell
, chair, political science, (715) 425-3318, Tracey.L.Gladstone@uwrf.edu
National elections, media coverage of elections

Neil Kraus, assistant professor of political science, (715) 425-3318, Neil.Kraus@uwrf.edu
State and regional public policy

UW-ROCK COUNTY
Nathan Zook
, assistant professor of political science, office (608) 758-6536, home (608) 758-2452, nzook@uwc.edu
American politics, elections, international politics, Middle East, religion and politics, terrorism, Israel/Palestine, congressional and national politics, ethics in government

UW-SHEBOYGAN
Karl Byrand
, assistant professor of geography, (920) 459-6619 / (920) 451-1784, kbyrand@uwc.edu
Environmental, foreign policy and U.S. race and ethnicity issues

Richard Flannery, professor of political science, (920) 459-6630 / home (920) 459-7116, rflanner@uwc.edu
The American Presidency

UW-STEVENS POINT
John Blakeman, assistant professor of political science, (715) 346-4111, jblakema@uwsp.edu
Constitutional Law, First Amendment, civil rights and civil liberties, religion and politics

Edward Miller, professor of political science, (715) 346-3130, emiller@uwsp.edu
American politics, legislative process, public policy, state & urban politics, health policy, education policy, research methods

Dennis Riley, professor of political science, (715) 346-4107, driley@uwsp.edu
National politics

David Williams, assistant professor of political science, (715) 346-4109, dawillia@uwsp.edu
Constitutional Law, political philosophy

UW-STOUT
Peder Hamm
, associate professor of social science, (715) 232-2127, hammp@uwstout.edu
National politics

Alec Kirby, historian, (715) 232-1140, kirbya@uwstout.edu
History of state and national politics

UW-WASHINGTON COUNTY
Sandi Brunette-Hill, associate professor of sociology, (262) 335-5243, sbrunett@uwc.edu
Politics and social issues

Larry Gomes, professor of economics, (262) 335-5256, lgomes@uwc.edu
Politics and economic issues

David Huehner, professor of history, (262) 335-5242, dhuehner@uwc.edu
Politics and historical perspective

Roger Wall, associate professor of political science, (262) 335-5237, rwall@uwc.edu
Political science issues

UW-WAUKESHA
Joe Foy
, assistant professor of political science, (262) 521-5440, jfoy@uwc.edu
State politics, gubernatorial issues, ethnic and nationalist conflict, democracy studies, international politics

Margaret Hankenson, associate professor of political science, (262) 521-5204, mhankens@uwc.edu
Political theory, international relations, women's studies, American politics

UW-WHITEWATER
Paul Adogamhe
, associate professor of political science, (262) 472-2634, adogamhp@uww.edu
African politics

Larry Anderson, assistant professor of political science, (262) 472-5265, andersol@uww.edu
Wisconsin politics and government, U.S. Congress

Charles Cottle, professor of political science, (920) 723-6736, cottlec@uww.edu
Political philosophy

Jolly Emrey, assistant professor of political science, (262) 472-1124, emreyj@uww.edu
U.S. Supreme Court, initiative and referenda

Zohreh Ghavamshahidi, professor and department chair, women's studies and anthropology, (262) 472-5117, ghavamsz@uww.edu
Middle East politics, international law

Anne Hamilton, assistant professor of political science, (262) 472-1214, hamiltoa@uww.edu
American foreign policy, Russian politics, international relations

Susan Johnson, associate professor and department chair, political science, (262) 472-4766, johnsons@uww.edu
Elections, American presidency, women and politics

John Kozlowicz, lecturer of political science, (262) 472-5266, kozlowij@uww.edu
Elections, Wisconsin politics and government, judicial politics

Xia Lollar, associate professor of political science, (262) 472-1168, lollarx@uww.edu
Asian politics

John Valadez, associate professor of political science, (262) 472-1676, valadezj@uww.edu
Ethnic politics

###