News & Events - University of Wisconsin System

Return to News | News Archive


Contact: Lorre Kolb (608) 262-7353

October 21, 1999

Women of Color to be Honored

MADISON - Twenty-one women of color in Wisconsin higher education will be honored for their contributions to diversity at the annual Women of Color Ceremony and Reception on October 22, 1999 at UW-Platteville.

The ceremony and reception, held in conjunction with the 24th annual Women's Studies Conference and the 15th annual Wisconsin Institute for Peace and Conflict Studies, is sponsored by the UW System Office of Multicultural Affairs, the UW System Women's Studies Consortium and UW-Platteville.

"These women and their predecessors have made outstanding contributions to their local campus, surrounding community and higher education in the State of Wisconsin as a whole. We are fortunate to have such extraordinary women of color amongst our colleagues," said Jacqueline Ross, former director of the Women's Studies Consortium.

One woman of color from each UW System institution and member institutions of the Wisconsin Institute for Peace and Conflict Studies will be recognized for her outstanding achievements and the contributions she has made to the university community and, in particular, to diversity. Ross and Carol Sue Butts, Provost at UW-Platteville, will present the awards.

The following honorees include faculty and staff, students and community members: (for biographical information click here)

University of Wisconsin System Institutions:

Deanna Dennis (UW-Eau Claire)

Denise Sweet (UW-Green Bay)

Leticia Pena (UW-La Crosse)

Amy Ling (UW-Madison)

April Holland (UW-Milwaukee)

Judith Hankes (UW-Oshkosh)

Mary Lou Mahone and Bridgette Johnson (UW-Parkside)

Pusaporn Tabrizi (UW-Platteville)

Jacquelynne Whitner (UW-River Falls)

Jyotsna Chander (UW-Stevens Point)

Tracy Benson (UW-Stout)

Karen Weiss (UW-Superior)

Graciela Colin-Dealca (UW-Whitewater)

Andrea-Teresa "Tess" Arenas (UW System)

Rejoice Sithole (UW Colleges)

Dina Castro de Knibbs (UW-Extension)

Wisconsin Institute for Peace and Conflict Studies Institutions:

Debora Barerra Pontillo (Edgewood College)

Mary Council Austin (Marian College)

Dr. M. Shawn Copeland (Marquette University)

Connie Burditt (Northland College)

Two of the women are being honored posthumously. Their awards will be accepted by Tony Hinds (Amy Ling) and Timothy Mahoney (Mary Lou Mahoney).

Denise Sweet, the honoree from UW-Green Bay and an Anishinaabe (White Earth) poet will give a poetry reading at the Women of Color Awards Ceremony and Reception.