President's Advisory Committee on Disability Issues

Description of Committee

The UW System Policy on Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Disability (RPD 14-10) states that the committee shall "provide information and recommendations (to the President) relating to individuals with disabilities."  The committee is charged with providing recommendations in three major areas:

  • Policy and guideline implementation;
  • Procedures for periodic reporting of  data regarding disabilities; and
  • Disability related issues raised by UW System Administration, institutions, or units.

The committee has been involved in promoting many issues to provide a supportive environment for students with disabilities, but over the past two years, it has promoted access to Assistive Technology and the implementation of a Universal Design in Higher Education grant from the Department of Education. The goal of this project is that all UW institutions will advocate to: 1) develop policies and procedures that support universal design, 2) plan on all levels to consider universal design principles, and 3) identify and support architectural, informational, and curricular experts on each campus to serve as resources in these areas.

The committee has ten members appointed by the President of the University of Wisconsin System, two of which are students selected by the United Council of Students.  Tim O’Connor,, Director of the Testing and Evaluation Service at UW-Madison, chairs the committee; Sal Carranza,, Senior Institutional Planner in the UW System Office of Academic Affairs, serves as staff.


Meetings occur in the fall and the spring.  Both meetings are usually face to face, in Madison, but, on occasion, they are held in conjunction with Disability Issues conferences held in the state. 


Tim O'Connor (Committee Chair)
Senior Student Services Coordinator
373 Educational Sciences
1025 W. Johnson Street
Madison, WI  53706 
Phone: 608-262-9151; Fax: 608-263-4291
Term Expires: August 2012

Professor Robert McCallister
Chair, Natural Science Division
UW-Rock County
2909 Kellogg Avenue
Janesville, WI 53546
Term Expires: August 2013

Lynn Niemi, Coordinator
Disability Services
UW-Green Bay
SS 1700
2420 Nicolet Drive 
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001 
920-465-2849; V/TTY 920-465-2841
Term Expires: August 2012

Kathleen Deery
Department of Vocational Rehabilitation
232 Voc Rehab Bldg 
Menomonie WI 54751
(715) 232-2233 
Term Expires: August 2013

Renee Sartin Kirby, Coordinator
Disability Services 
900 Wood Road 
Kenosha, WI 53141 
262-595-2610 (TTY number is the same)
Term Expires: August 2012

Ricardo Mario Gonzales
Campus Facility Planner
UW-Eau Claire
105 Garfield Avenue
Eau Claire, WI 54701
Phone: (715) 836-5125
Term Expires: August 2013

Christine Curley
ADA Coordinator
Equal Opportunity & Diversity Programs
UW Extension
Room 501-C
432 N. Lake Street 
Madison, WI 53706 
Phone: 608-265-2406; Fax: 608-262-8404
Term Expires: August 2012

Elizabeth Watson, Coordinator
Center for Students with Disabilities
2002 Andersen Library 
800 W. Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190 
262-472-4711 (TTY is on all incoming lines)
FAX:  262-472-4865
Term Expires: August 2013

Abigail Fabick
Student Representative
1518 Comanche Glen,
Madison, WI 53704 
Term Expires: August 2013

Roger O. Smith, Director
Rehabilitation Research Design & Disability (R2D2) Center 
College of Health Sciences
Enderis Hall 975
PO Box 413 
Milwaukee, WI  53201 
Phone: 414-229-5625; Fax: 414-229-6843

UW System Administration Staff

Salvador (Sal) Carranza
Senior Institutional Planner
Office of Academic & Student Services
1630 Van Hise Hall, 1220 Linden Drive 
Madison, WI  53706 
Phone: 608-265-9177; Fax: 608-263-2046

Revised 8/22/2011