Areas of Practice

Office of General Counsel Attorneys all have expertise and practice in a number of general legal subject areas, such as discrimination law and employment law.  Because higher education law is complex, Office of General Counsel attorneys also specialize in certain areas.  The following list of practice areas does not include all legal issues that may arise, but is provided to assist clients in identifying which attorney to contact.  If you remain uncertain about who to contact, please call any attorney and he or she will assist you. 

Printer friendly version:  Practice Areas

 

PRACTICE AREAS


CONTACT PERSON(S)


 

Affirmative Action

Reed

 

Athletics

Kastberg, Bilder

 

Bankruptcy/Collections

Lind, Reed

 

Campus Safety/Clery Act

Reed, Bilder, Kastberg

 

Child Safety

Kastberg

 

Computer/Internet

Kastberg

 

Contracts/Transactions

All Attorneys

 

Corporate Matters/Governance (Regents)

Stafford

 

Disability Law

All Attorneys

 

Discrimination

All Attorneys

 

 

Diversity Issues

Bilder

 

Employment

All Attorneys

 

Export Controls

Lind

 

FCC/Broadcasting

Kastberg

 

FERPA

All Attorneys

 

Free Speech/Academic Freedom

All Attorneys

 

General Higher Education Law

All Attorneys

 

Health Care

Reed

 

Immigration

Lind

 

Intellectual Property

Lattis

 

International Programs

Bilder

 

Open Meetings

All Attorneys

 

Policy Development/Review

All Attorneys

 

Public Records

All Attorneys - Lattis, UW System

Administration Records Custodian

 

Real Estate

Lattis, Lind

 

Research Issues

Bilder

 

Risk Management

Bilder

 

Student Affairs

Bilder, Reed, Kastberg

 

Taxation

Lattis, Lind

 

Trusts and Estates

Stafford, Lattis, Bilder

 

CONTACTS


 

 

Office of General Counsel

(608) 262-2995       counsel@uwsa.edu

 

Tomas Stafford, General Counsel

(608) 263-6105       tstafford@uwsa.edu

 

Anne Bilder, Senior System Legal Counsel

(608) 265-3094       abilder@uwsa.edu

 

Erin Kastberg, System Legal Counsel

(608) 262-6497       ekastberg@uwsa.edu

 

Jennifer Sloan Lattis, Deputy General Counsel

(608) 262-0747       jlattis@uwsa.edu

 

Matthew Lind, System Legal Counsel

(608) 890-3281       mlind@uwsa.edu

 

Paige Reed, Senior System Legal Counsel

(608) 265-5319       preed@uwsa.edu

 

 

 

 

Alicia Boll, Office Manager

(608) 262-8646

       aboll@uwsa.edu

 

Office of General Counsel

(608) 262-2995       counsel@uwsa.edu

     April 2014