Financial Administration

Financial Administration Staff

To send an email to a member of the staff, click on the email address below the name. All electronic mail addresses are in the following format: first initial of first name, last name, and @uwsa.edu (example: jdoe@uwsa.edu).

Our mailing address is UW System Financial Administration; 780 Regent Street, Suite 255; Madison, WI 53715.

Financial Administration Fax Number: (608) 262-5316

Organizational Chart

   
 
Gordon, Julie
jgordon@uwsa.edu
(608) 262-1803
Associate Vice President for Financial Administration
     
Hintz, Ginger
ghintz@uwsa.edu
(608) 262-6010
  UW System Controller
     
Sypula, Diann
dsypula@uwsa.edu
(608) 265-5792
  Director of Financial Operations
     
Grams, Laurie
lgrams@uwsa.edu
(608) 263-4372
  Director of Financial Reporting
   
 
AREAS OF RESPONSIBILITY
     

Ahola, Jon
jahola@uwsa.edu
(608) 265-2232

 
  • SFS General Ledger Functionality
  • Interface Between SFS and WiSMART
  • Year-End Closing Operations
  • Monthly Reconciliation Between SFS and WiSMART
  • SFS Help Desk Support for GL
  • SFS Allocation Process
  • Functional Lead for Design/Analysis
  • Functional Lead for System Testing
  • Training for End Users
     

Backus, Jim
jbackus@uwsa.edu
(608) 890-2086

 
  • Systemwide Accounts Payable (AP), Purchasing (PO), and Tax Solutions
  • SFS Project Implementation, Maintenance Packs, and Upgrades
  • Functional Lead for Design/Analysis Phase
  • Functional Lead for System Testing Phase
  • Training for End Users Where Appropriate
  • SFS Help Desk Support
     

Biltz, Benjamin
bbiltz@uwsa.edu
(608) 890-3208

 
  • SFS Security for All Modules
  • SFS Help Desk Support for Infrastructure, Security
  • Functional Lead for System Testing
  • Training for End Users
     

Burton, Nicki
nburton@uwsa.edu
(608) 890-1632

 
  • IS Travel Expense Module
  • SFS Project Implementation, Maintenance Packs, and Upgrades
  • Functional Lead for Design/Analysis Phase
  • Functional Lead for System Testing Phase
  • Training for End Users Where Appropriate
  • SFS Help Desk Support
 

Christianson, Connie
cchristianson@uwsa.edu
(608) 262-9544

 
  • Grants and Contracts Issues
  • Financial Aid Program Issues
  • Gift-in-Kind Statutory Report
  • Auxiliary Reserves Statutory Report
  • A-133 Grant Schedule
  • Indirect Cost Rate Calculation
  • Act 32 Reporting
     

Dietzman, Sherry
sdietzman@uwsa.edu
(608) 262-2621

 
  • Travel/Corporate Card Administrator
  • Vendor Files and W9 Forms
  • TER and PIR Forms
  • Petty Cash Funds
  • Credit Card and Wire Transfer Receipts
  • Check and Cash Deposits
  • UWSA Salary Transfers and Encumbrance Adjustments
  • UWSA and Systemwide Billings
     

Diring, Linda
ldiring @uwsa.edu
(608) 890-2839

 
  • HRS Interfaces Into and Out of SFS
    • Payroll to General Ledger
    • General Ledger to DOA
  • Payroll Interface Daily Operations Support
  • HRS Support:
    • Functional Lead for DOA Interface
    • Subject Matter Expert for Payroll Interface to General Ledger
    • Subject Matter Expert for Payroll Data/Reporting in SFS
     

Engbloom, Eric
eengbloom@uwsa.edu
(608) 265-5794

 
  • Financial Appropriation Structure/Account Code Updates
  • 1099/1042S Reporting
  • W-2 Fringe Benefits Reporting
  • Energy Expense Analysis
  • WiSMART Security Administration
  • Year End Closing and Reconciliation Assistance
  • Endowment Funds Issues Consultant
  • Backup Support for ZBA Cash Management
   

Fosshage, Donna
dfosshage@uwsa.edu
(608) 262-0243

 
  • Systemwide Budget Control and Monitoring
  • Systemwide Budget Transfers
  • Budget Reconciliation to Allotments/Allocations
  • Year-End Closing and Annual Reconciliation
  • Systemwide Carryover/Justification
  • Program Revenue Annual Report
  • Zero Balance Checking Reconciliation Assistance
  • 3270 Departmental Additions/Deletions
     

Gill, Terri
tgill@uwsa.edu
(608) 263-0873

 
  • Travel Management, including Policy Development and Interpretation
  • Meeting Planning Assistance
  • Travel Contracts Administration
  • Relocation Assistance
  • Financial Policy Administration/Interpretation
  • Tax Exemption
  • Value Added Tax Recovery
     

Grams, Laurie
lgrams@uwsa.edu
(608) 263-4372

 
  • Annual Financial Report Questions
  • Current Funds - Financial Report
  • LAB Liaison
  • Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
  • Various Expenditure and Revenue Categories Trends and Analyses
  • Expenditure Data
     

Hesselbacher, Allen
ahesselbacher@uwsa.edu
(608) 263-5692

 
  • Quarterly BOR Grant and Contract Reporting
  • Extramural Fringe Benefit Rates and Tool
  • Procurement Card/Corporate Card Program
  • Financial Aid and Tuition Remissions/Issues
  • Preaudit and Postaudit Issues
  • 1098T and 1098E Tax Issues
     

Hintz, Ginger
ghintz@uwsa.edu
(608) 262-6010

 
  • Systemwide Budget Control
  • Spending Authority/Allotment Reconciliations, Adjustments
  • Annual Reconciliations/Carryover
  • Academic Fee Issues - Projection
  • Financial and Administrative Policy Interpretation
  • Expenditure Code Inquiries/Interpretation
  • Bank Reconciliations
  • UWSA Accounting, Finance, Budget
  • Tax Issues, Including UBIT, Sales Tax, 1099
   

Jaeger, Karen
kjaeger@uwsa.edu
(608) 263-6973

 
  • Paycycle/Print Checks
  • Nonsalary Expense Transfers
  • Clearing and ZBA Accounts Reconciliation
  • Deposit Upload/CC Merch Fee Posting
  • W2 and 1099 Tax Reporting
  • Grant Accounting
  • UWSA Requisitions and PO Accounting
  • UWSA Procurement Card Administrator
  • State Investment Fund Interest
  • UWSA Foundation Accounting
  • Fixed Asset and Inventory Accounting
     

LaBreche, Maureen
mlabreche@uwsa.edu
(608) 265-6627

 
  • Zero Balance Checking Reconciliation
  • ZBA Cash Management
  • Bank Account Signature Management
  • US Bank SinglePoint System Administrator
  • Systemwide Deposit Account
  • DOA Daily Reconciliation Transfers
  • Annual Bank Accounts Certification/Balance Report
  • Trust Funds Bank Account and Wires
  • Trust Funds WiSMART Entries
     

Larson, Scott
slarson@uwsa.edu
(608) 890-1698

 
  • Systemwide WISDM Financial Data Tool and Financial Data Warehouse
  • Systemwide Grants, Contracts, Accounts Receivable, Billing, Project Costing, WISPER, and Cost Share
  • Functional Lead for Design/Analysis
  • Functional Lead for System Testing
  • Training for End Users
  • SFS Help Desk Support for Grants, Contracts, Accounts Receivable, Billing, Project Costing, WISPER, and Cost Share
  • SFS Help Desk Support for Reporting (nVision, Query, WISDM)
     

Vacant
(608) 262-1313

 
  • Administrative Support
     

Parman, Laura
lparman@uwsa.edu
(608) 262-4318

  • Systemwide Accounts Payable (AP), Purchasing (PO), and Tax Solutions
  • SFS Project Implementation, Maintenance Packs, and Upgrades
  • SFS Change Management Team
  • Functional Lead for Design/Analysis Phase
  • Functional Lead for System Testing Phase
  • Training for End Users Where Appropriate
  • SFS Help Desk Support
     

Peters, Bryan
bpeters@uwsa.edu
(608) 262-7957

 
  • Monthly Reporting
  • WiSMART Reconciliation
  • Annual Reconciliation
  • GPO Pool Analysis and Shifts
  • Adhoc Reporting
  • 1099/1042S Reporting
  • Share Tree Maintenance
     

Rhodes, Dennis
drhodes@uwsa.edu
(608) 261-1434

 
  • Veteran's Issues - Program and Policy Development
  • Wisconsin GI Bill Analytical and Data Support

     

Schroeder, Diane
dschroeder@uwsa.edu
(608) 890-2508

  • Capital Project Expenditure Transactions

   

Seow, Ros
rseow@uwsa.edu
(608) 262-0782

 
  • Plant Funds - Financial Report
  • Capital Projects - Program Revenue Bonding
  • Debt Service
     

Sypula, Diann
dsypula@uwsa.edu
(608) 265-5792

 
  • Shared Financial System (SFS) Systemwide Management
    • Daily Operations
    • Systems and Project Planning and Implementation
    • Partner Relationships
    • Steering Committee Member - SFS Representative
    • SFS Budget Preparation and Administration
    • SFS Upgrade Project Manager
    • SFS Change Request Manager
     

Talbott, Debbie
dtalbott@uwsa.edu
(608) 263-1044

 
  • Travel Arrangements for UW System Employees and Guests
  • Travel Management, including Policy Development and Interpretation
     

VanWormer, Stacy
svanwormer@uwsa.edu
(608) 890-2977

 
  • SFS Help Desk Support
  • SFS Project Implementation, Maintenance Packs, and Upgrades
  • PS Query and nVision Support
     

Waraksa, Karen
kwaraksa@uwsa.edu
(608) 890-0291

 
  • Zero Balance Checking Reconciliation
  • Financial Report - Accounts Receivable, Capital Equipment, Capital Leases, Library Holdings
 

Zurkirchen, Deb
dzurkirchen@uwsa.edu
(608) 263-3156

  • Financial Administration Website Design/Maintenance
  • Administrative Support
  • Financial Report Production and Distribution